Fall and Winter Term 2017-2018

On this page:

Undergraduate Sessional Dates, as approved by Senate:

2017 Fall Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Registration begins To be announced
Classes begin Tuesday, September 5
Last day for registration and changes in registration Wednesday, September 13
Mid-term Recess Monday, October 9 to
Sunday, October 15
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, November 10
Assessment Ban
(See Undergraduate Course
Management Policies)
Thursday, November 30 to Thursday, December 7
Classes end Wednesday, December 6
Final Examinations Friday, December 8 to Thursday, December 21
Deferred Examinations Tuesday, February 20 to Friday, February 23

2018 Winter Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Registration begins To be announced
Classes begin Thursday, January 4*
Last day for registration and changes in registration Friday, January 12
Mid-term Recess Monday, February 19 to Sunday, February 25
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, March 16
Good Friday: No classes or examinations Friday, March 30
Assessment Ban
(See Undergraduate Course Management Policies)
Tuesday, April 3
to
Tuesday, April 10
Classes end Monday, April 9
Final Examinations Wednesday, April 11 to Thursday, April 26
Deferred Examinations Monday June 18 to Thursday June 21

* The University re-opens on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 after the December holidays; classes begin January 4.


2017-2018 Multi-Term Courses (124 days)

Item Date(s)
Registration begins To be announced
Classes begin Tuesday, September 5
Last day for registration and changes in registration Wednesday, September 13
Mid-Term Recess(es) Monday, October 9 to Sunday, October 15
and
Monday, February 19 to Sunday, February 25
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, March 16
Good Friday: No classes or examinations Friday, March 30
Assessment Ban
(See Undergraduate Course Management Policies)
Tuesday, April 3 to Tuesday, April 10
Classes end Monday, April 9
Mid-Term Tests Level (I) Friday, December 8 to Thursday, December 21
Final Examinations Wednesday, April 11 to Thursday, April 26
Deferred Examinations Monday June 18 to Thursday June 21

What’s New

March 10thlast day for cancelling courses.

March 20th – 9am Spring/Summer enrolment opens in Mosaic.

April 6thlast day of classes.

Final Exams – Tuesday, April 11 – Thursday, April 27. Check your personal schedule in Mosaic: Student Centre>Academics>Exam Schedule>2017 Winter

April 14th – Good Friday – University Closed

Ask McMaster

*opens a new window