Fall and Winter Term 2016-2017

On this page:

Undergraduate Sessional Dates, as approved by Senate:

2016 Fall Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Enrolment (registration)  By Level – Personal Enrollment Appointments (date and time) posted in Mosaic – under Enrollment Dates details

Level  5 – June 21
Level  4 – June 22
Level 3 – June 23
Level 2 – June 27
Level 1 – June 29

Open Enrollment  (all other students) – July 4
Non-degree seeking students – July 4

Classes begin Tuesday, September 6
Last day for enrollment (registration) and changes Wednesday, September 14
Mid-term recess Monday, October 10 to
Sunday, October 16
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, November 4
Test and Examination Ban (no tests or exams may be held during this period) Thursday, December 1 to Thursday, December 8
Classes end Wednesday, December 7
Final Examinations Friday, December 9 to Thursday, December 22 (12 days)
Deferred examinations Tuesday, February 21 to Friday, February 24

2017 Winter Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Classes begin Wednesday, January 4
Last day for enrollment (registration) and changes Thursday, January 12
Mid-term recess Monday, February 20 to Sunday, February 26
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, March 10
Test and Examination Ban (no tests or exams may be held during this period) Friday, March 31 to Monday, April 10
Good Friday: No classes or examinations Friday, April 14
Classes end Thursday, April 6
Final Examinations Tuesday, April 11 to Thursday, April 27
Deferred examinations Monday, June 19 to Thursday, June 22

2016-2017 Multi-Term Courses (124 days)

Item Date(s)
Classes begin Tuesday, September 6
Last day for enrollment (registration) and changes Wednesday, September 14
Mid-term recess Monday, October 10 to Sunday, October 16,  and Monday, February 20 to Sunday, February 26
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, March 10
Test and Examination Ban (no tests or exams may be held during this period) Friday, March 31 to Monday, April 10
Good Friday: No classes or examinations Friday, April 14
Classes end Thursday, April 6
Mid-Term Tests Level (I) Friday, December 9 to Thursday, December 22
Final Examinations Tuesday, April 11 to Thursday, April 27
Deferred examinations Monday, June 19 to Thursday, June 22

What’s New

Reading Week: Feb. 20-26th, 2017


Want a chance to win one of 5 $100 Campus Store cards?

Take a short survey on key student services areas (Registrar’s Office, Student Financial Aid & Scholarships, Student Accounts & Cashiers, Graduate Studies, etc.).  Your feedback is important in helping us to do our best.


Ask McMaster

*opens a new window